Jazz au théatre


Prairie du bois d’Hyver

Parc du château de Fontainebleau

© Tom Maurer  (Gismo Trio)  

Gismo Graf – Amati Schmitt – Brady Winterstein Quintet

5:00 PM

Gismo Graf : solo guitar        
Amati Schmitt : solo guitar     
Brady Winterstein : solo guitar           
Joschi Graf : guitare rythmique          
Joel Locher : doublebass        

Discover the new project of Gismo Graf, Amati Schmitt and Brady Winterstein, the young hopes of gypsy jazz. Let yourself be surprised by their performance combining technique, virtuosity, rhythmic rigor and charisma. A journey into the world of Django Reinhardt through a gypsy jazz with pop sounds, bossa nova and swing. A delight for the eyes and ears.


7:00 PM

Subject to modifications :
Marcus Miller : bass & bass clarinet  

Brett William : keyboards       
Alex Bailey : drums   
Russel Gunn : trumpet           
Alex Han : saxophone

Winner of two Grammy Awards, the Edison Award for Lifetime Achievement in Jazz and a Victoire du Jazz for his entire career in France, Marcus Miller is both a bass virtuoso and an outstanding clarinet  bass musician and a talented composer and producer. Marcus Miller could be included in the history of jazz only with Tutu, the album that marked the return of Miles Davis in 1986. Seven years later, the album The Sun Don’t Lie truly launches the career of the bassist under his own name. For 25 years, the great names of soul, jazz and pop have been hitting this versatile young artist fast. He is currently watching the young career of his saxophonist Alex Han (Afrodeezia) which he has just produced the first recording (Spirit). But it comes back especially with a twenty third album entitled Laid Black et shows us that jazz is always in motion.

New Album : Laid Back (2018) – Out in June 

© Ingrid Hertfelder

© DR


8:45 PM

Subject to modifications :
Michael League : bass
Larnell Lewis : drums
Nate Werth : percussion
Bob Lanzetti : guitar
Shaun Martin : keyboards
Bill Laurance : keyboards
ustin Stanton : trumpet – keyboards
Mike Maher : trumpet
Chris Bullock : saxophone

Unique show in France at the Django Reinhardt Festival ! Snarky Puppy is one of the spearheads of today’s instrumental music. Managed by Michael League, the band’s composer, Snarky Puppy offers us raw funk, sensitive dynamics, relentless melodies, lush harmonies, and a delicate blend of compositions and improvisations. The bass lines intertwine with the brass with a precision and fluidity worthy of the great masters of Jazz and Funk. The drumming is a combination of technical prowess and the guitar is sure to seduce the most seasoned listeners. In ten years, Snarky Puppy can boast of having received 2 Grammy awards, having had the best jazz and iTunes sales on the Billboard since 2004 and released no less than 11 albums, including the latest Culcha Vulcha in April 2016.

Last Album : Culcha vulcha (2016) / Decca Records / GroundUP Music LLC  / Universal Music